Kate Hoey joins us for the next episode of ConservativeHome Live

27 Nov

We are pleased to invite you to take part in the next instalment of our ConservativeHome Live interview series, for which we will be joined by yet another very special guest: Kate Hoey.

During her 30 years as Labour MP for Vauxhall, Kate won both fans and critics across party lines by her willingness to stand up for her beliefs – vocally opposing the hunting ban as Chairman of the Countryside Alliance, defying Robert Mugabe by sneaking into Zimbabwe to meet with opposition leaders, and most famously campaigning for the UK to leave the EU. Her votes to honour the outcome of the 2016 referendum proved crucial more than once in the 2017-19 Parliament, as she resisted intense pressure from her then party to back down.

Having chosen not to stand again in last year’s General Election, in October she was elevated to the House of Lords, as Baroness Hoey of Lylehill and Rathlin, where she sits as a non-affiliated peer.

Join us live as we discuss her experiences as a Labour Eurosceptic, as well as her perspective on the modern left, the future of Brexit and the challenges facing London. It is set to be a truly fascinating hour, with a unique politician who has a deserved reputation for speaking her mind.

Thanks to the support of our sponsor, Thorncliffe, this online event will be free to view. As ever, there will be a chance for audience members to put their questions to Kate, too.

The event will take place via Zoom at 7pm-8pm, Tuesday 1st December.

Click here to register for your free ticket.

Lords 2) Hammond, Stuart, Davidson, Hoey. Johnson, Fox… but no Bercow. The new peerages.

1 Aug

Dissolution Peerages


  • Sir Henry Bellingham
  • Kenneth Clarke
  • Ruth Davidson
  • Philip Hammond
  • Nick Herbert
  • Jo Johnson
  • Mark Lancaster
  • Sir Patrick McLoughlin
  • Aamer Sarfraz
  • Ed Vaizey


  • Kathryn Clark
  • Brinley Davies

Democratic Unionist:

  • Nigel Dodds


  • Frank Field
  • Kate Hoey
  • Ian Austen
  • Gisela Stuart
  • John Woodcock

Political Peerages


  • Lorraine Fullbrook
  • Ed Udny-Lister
  • Daniel Moylan
  • Andrew Sharpe
  • Michael Spencer
  • Veronica Wadley
  • James Wharton
  • Dame Helena Morrissey
  • Neil Mendoza


  • Susan Hayman
  • Prem Sikka
  • Anthony Woodley


  • Claire Fox
  • Charles Moore