European Commission, Council presidents sign Brexit deal

24 Jan

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen and European Council President Charles Michel this morning signed the agreement on the withdrawal of the U.K. from the EU.

In a tweet announcing the move, Michel said: “Things will inevitably change but our friendship will remain. We start a new chapter as partners and allies.”

He added, in French, that he looked “forward to writing this new page together.”

The European Parliament’s Constitutional Affairs Committee gave its consent to the withdrawal deal Thursday, with all MEPs in the European Parliament set to approve the agreement next week. The U.K. is scheduled to leave the bloc on January 31.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.